If this is the answer what is the question?

The subversive Stamatis Laskos

[Gr]

Stamatis Laskos is a young artist from Volos whose certainly, works of him, you have come across at some point on walls of Athens and beyond. He showed us his art through his street art technique and he is currently working as a mural, illustrator and painter. He couldn’ t do otherwise than making his hobby a profession by studying in art school with teachers such as Mrs Papaspyrou and Mr Spiliopoulos, from where he graduated in 2007 with honors.

His figures made as caricatures, extend to a height and so elongated as he makes them, zooms in an oversized head and usually boned hands full of angles. His works exude something from satire, much of social criticism, enough imagination and surrealism and plenty of talent.

de0b596b-a16a-4e03-bffb-ba4b2e3b0e04

  • Stamatis, what is painting for you?

Painting is my way of expressing myself and a big part of my life.

cb13b213368693.56281ba1b0354be70be26332641.55fc37c0996f6

  • At what age have you realized that you wanted to become an artist and in what occasion?

I paint from very young age, basically since I can’t even remember myself and I learn stories from back then from my parents. At very young age I felt inside me that I have decided what to do with my life.

  • Which are the materials that you use?

Oils on canvas and plastic colors on walls.

  • What is the element that you distinguish in your own works, how you would describe them?

I would like to let others classify me because for me I am myself.

  • Who or what influences and inspires you?

From time to time I have been influenced by various artists-painters. Currently I study a lot Gustav Klimt and Egon Schiele. I am also influenced by things and situations I encounter in my everyday life.

  • What is your favorite piece of your work?

I can’t pick out a painting. But I certainly feel that my most recent work is probably better than the previous ones.

4cfc5f15742693.56038e9476a72

  • What kind of work would you like to have created?

Picasso’s Guernica.

guernica

26 Aπριλίου 1937: Η καταστροφή της Γκουέρνικα, Πικάσο

  • What can you tell about your character, as a remnant of your teenage years?

The revolutionary spirit. I had been told that growing up I would calm down, but from what I see it’s the opposite.

b4fe9a26332641.563543117f2c4

Stamatis will present his works in Barcelona Montana Gallery in February 2017 and April 2017 in Thessaloniki, in Lola’s Nikolaou gallery.

You can see more of his projects on his site.


Editing: Eleftheria Vonaparti – Translated by: Gretel Athanasiou

Σχολιάστε

